1. Home
  2. Docs
  3. DataManager RT
  4. Top Level Navigation Bar
  5. Publish

Publish

From the Publish tab, you can push completed content (models set to Publish) to Staging and/or Production PartSmart Web servers for viewing by the end users by clicking on the Publish Staging  or Publish Production buttons.

There is also a Republish All button  that will completely replace the data in Staging with the current Data Manager RT content that is set to Publish. This is useful if data is rolled back to an earlier time in Data Manager RT.

Publishing History allows you to see relevant data regarding recent pushes to production or staging.

 

Behavior when “hold back” flag is set to true:

Overview: This setting was introduced in order to provide control over when a part would be published to production. In the past, as soon as a part was created it would get published with the data, even if the only place it was used was on a model or assembly that was not yet ready for publish. The setting needs to be implemented by ARI – there is nothing in the UI that will allow an end user to enable or disable this. Call us, if you want this on.

As it has been implemented, there are some notable limitations. Release of a part to production is tied to the publish status of a model. We didn’t want to create a flag on the part that a user would have to come back and uncheck to have the part publish. There might be hundreds of parts in this state at any given time and this would have been onerous to have to remove the flag on some subset of these parts. This way, when the model is ready to be published, any new parts would go along with it automatically.

If the part has been created and is not attached to a model, the part will publish. Many customers have parts in their parts lists that are not specific to any particular model – lubricants, for example.

If a new part is added to an assembly that is used on a model that has been published the part will go. The part has to be new and attached to an assembly that is part of a model that has never been published.

If the new part gets published mistakenly, one can set the model to Draft – Remove and publish again (this will require a Republish All). This will remove the model and any new parts associated.

Print this article
Was this article helpful to you? Yes No

How can we help?